Ferntree Gully Football was formally founded on the 23rd March 1892.

The following newspaper articles of the day record the establishment of the Club.

Dandenong Advertiser 31/3/1892 – A very successful meeting for the purposes of forming a football club at Ferntree Gully was held on Thursday evening (24th inst) at Dobson’s Hall, nearly 30 members being enrolled and as many more promising to join. Mr J Henley was voted to the chair and the principle business was the election of Office Bearers for the first and coming season.

The appointment of a chaplain and committee was deferred until the next meeting to be held on 9th April again at Dobson’s hall. Mr J T Dobson was chosen as the first President, Mr J Dobson Jnr as Treasurer and Mr G Trounsen as Secretary. The Shire Councillors and the leading men in the neighbourhood will be invited to act as Vice Presidents and Patrons.

Mr Ed Selman has kindly given the use of the racecourse paddock and Mr A Lording has donated a football which he promised last year if a Club could be formed. The unanimity prevailing at this meeting and the kindly offers of assistance leave no doubt as to the successful formation of the Club and it is hoped that it has a prosperous future before it. The Secretary will be glad to hear from other clubs to arrange matches.

Dandenong Advertiser 24/4/1892 – The adjourned meeting of the Ferntree Gully Football Club was held at Dobson’s Hall on Thursday evening of the 14th after the weather prevented sufficient attendees at the previous attempt. This meeting was well attended and Mr R Minns presided.
The Secretary Mr George Trounsen read the correspondence received announcing donations from several gentlemen. The election of Office Bearers and a Committee to act during the coming season saw Mr H Monk elected first captain with Mr T Poole his Vice Captain, while Messrs Jackson, Biggens, Westley, Ingwerson and Gosbell were elected as the match committee. Some matches have been arranged and the Secretary is still taking offers for vacant dates from other Clubs.

Oakleigh and Ferntree Gully Times 8/4/1893 – The first Annual Meeting of the Ferntree Gully Football Club was held in the Assembly Hall on Saturday evening last (3rd inst), Mr Robert Minns presiding. Mr John Dobson was elected Secretary pro term. The financial report showed a balance of 3pound 11shillings and sixpence and was adopted.

The following Office Bearers were elected for 1892.

President – J T Dobson

Vice Presidents – T Dobson R H Kerr J Ryan T Jones F H Lording R Minns & J Mason

Secretary – J Dobson

Treasurer – J S Crawford

Patrons – J Keys Esq MLA, J J Miller Esq, G W Selman Esq, E W Ashley Esq, A E Selman Esq,  S Grimwood Esq JP

Captain – Henry Monk
Captain – Thomas Poole

The members’ subscription was fixed at 3 shiilngs and it was decided to open the season with a Smoke Night on Monday Evening 8/5/1893.

The Club first played in the Box Hill Reporter League and the Original colours were red and white. The Club was reputed to have won a flag in these early days but we are unable to establish the year.

1892-1914 competed in the Box Hill Reporter League.

1920-1926 competed in the Scoresby District Football League.

1928-1932 competed in the Mountain District Football League.

1932-1950 competed in the Dandenong Football Association.

In 1951 the Croydon-Ferntree Gully Football League was formed and would later become the Eastern Districts Football League. The Gully played in this League until returning to the Mountain District League in 1957.

In 1965 we were readmitted to the then EDFL and after winning flags in all grades (Senior, Reserve and Under16) in 1968 were promoted to First Division.

The 70’s saw a solid era of finals appearances but iot was not until 1987 that the club saw the ultimate success again.

The 90’s and early 2000’s saw a lean period for the club but with the merger of FTGFC and Knox Eagles Junior FC the future looks bright once again.

See document below which is a Newspaper extract from 1892 FTG vs Dandenong

The ‘above’ photo is from 1912 when the ‘new’ FTG reserve was first opened.

FTG vs Ringwood

old clubroom
first president john thompson 1892

First President 1892 John Thompson DOBSON

henry monk

First Captain 1892 Henry MONK


Vice President 1892 to 1913 Robert MINNS

greg lovell

Treasurer 1906 – 1915 George LOVELL

South Bourke and Mornington Journal (Richmond, Vic. : 1872 – 1920), Wednesday 15 June 1892, page 2

Download PDF