Best and Fairest 

The Ferntree Gully Football Club has produced some wonderful footballers over its 100 yr journey. From Henry Monk, Fred Lording, Thomas Poole in the beginning, to the strength of Myles Monk and Percy Beswicke at the turn of the 20th century before their careers with the Melbourne Football club .

Prior to the great war and the stellar decade of the twenty’s featuring players such as Mick Campbell, Paddy Gilchrist, The Picketts, Miles Sellars, Meredith and Max Newton.

Through the catastrophic depression of the 30’s with players such as Ted Beaumont, Wally Tew, Jim Campbell and The Round brothers.

The resurgence of the 40’s featured the likes of Don Downes, Dave Waters, Sharp, Paton and Sidebottom.

The 50’s brought class in the form of one man – Ray Priestley – recruited from Brunswick he would become a Gully Legend through this decade along with Bob Campbell, Barry Stuart, Bryan Mitchell and Bob DeCoite.

The 60’s brought back to back flags under the guidance of Billy Bragg with stars such as Johnny Milburn, Frank McGowan, Dundas, John Gordon, Jimmy Kirkpatrick. The mid 60’s brought great players in John & Peter Quinn, Ian Cameron, Hanrahan, Barker, Coleman & Piggot.

During the 70’s great locals came of age, Mastertoun, Price, Jimmy & Rob Turner, Hill, Batty, Bland, Campbell, Dockery, Feaver along with Milburn and the talented Ronnie Huy and Peter McKay.

The 80’s saw the establishment of our great facilities and with them came the likes of ‘Bluey’ McGrath, Morrow, Stephens, Coviello, Billy Mitchell, Hilton, Watson, Winters, Doherty and Johnny Colby.

Through the 90’s players such as Stephenson, Catalano, Johnson and Thomas stood out and with the turn of a new century the likes of Cassidy, Milburn, Sharp, Rawlings, Deiiso, Moore and Geonopoulos have continued the long list of great players for this Football Club. This is just a sample……

Ferntree Gully Eagles F.C. Awards;

The RAY PRIESTLEY Trophy is awarded to the senior XVIII Best and Fairest .

The JIM CAMPBELL Memorial Shield is also awarded to the Senior XVII Best & Fairest and remains in the clubrooms.

The GRAHAM THOMAS Trophy is awarded to the senior XVIII Runner Up Best & Fairest

The FRANK SHARP Memorial Trophy & Shield is Awarded to the Reserves XVIII Best & Fairest

The GRAHAM MILBURN Trophy is awarded to the Reserves Runner Up

The BRYAN MITCHELL Trophy is Awarded to the U19 Best & Fairest

The JIM TURNER Trophy is awarded to the U19 Runner Up.

The COEN HENDRICKS Memorial Trophy awarded by President to an individual for outstanding service to the club.

The MICK CAMPBELL Medal awarded to the best Finals player

Best and Fairest Winners 

miles sellers

1921 Miles Sellers

max newton

1928 Max Newton

greg pickett

1935 Greg Pickett

joe pickett

1936 Joes Pickett

teddy beaumont

1937, 38 Teddy Beaumont

wally tew

1940 Wally Tew

john gordon

1958 John Gordon

gavin feaver

1979 Gavin Feaver

darren stehpenson

1989 Darren Stephensen

clive evans

1959 Clive Evans

danny cassidy

1995 & 2001 Danny Cassidy

john quinn

1965, 66, 71 John Quinn

peter quinn

1967, 68 Peter Quinn

jim turner

1974, 77, 82 Jim Turner

mark johnson

1994 Mark Johnson

graham scott

1976 Graham Scott

Ian Cameron

1969 Ian Cameron

Terry Piggot

1976 Terry Piggot

Brendan Milburn

1993 Brendan Milburn

Dennis McGrath

1981, 84 Dennis McGrath

ray priestley

1952, 53, 54 Ray Priestley

Sean Winters

1988 Sean Winters

Wayne Doherty

1987, 91 Wayne Doherty

Peter McKay

1978 Peter McKay

John Turner

1990 John Turner

Danny Deiesio

2006, 7, 8, 9 Danny Deiesio

graham thomas

1998, 99, 2003 & 2005 Graham Thomas

tim edwards

1986 Tim Edwards

andrew sharp

2000, 02 Andrew Sharp

Our League Best and Fairest Winners

tim edwards

Tim Edwards EDFL U18 B&F 3rd Division 1985

andrew sharp

Andrew Sharp EFL Senior B&F 4th Division 2000

Ian Cameron

Ian Cameron EDFL Senior B&F 1st Division 1970

john colby

John Colby EDFL Senior B&F 3rd Division 1987

dave Droscher

Dave Droscher EDFL U16 B&F 1966

ray priestley

Ray Priestly MDFA Senior B&F 1953, 54, 55

kenny watson

Kenny Watson EDFL U18 B&F Second Division 1983

john quinn

John Quinn EDFL Senior B&F Second Division 1965, 66

max newton

Max Newton SDFA Senior B&F 1928

john kennedy

John Kennedy EDFL Reserves 1972

phil lawson

Phil Lawson EFL Reserves

League Leading Goal Kickers

1974 Steve Jones EFL 2nd Division

1976 Ronnie Huy EFL 2nd Division

1977 Ronnie Huy EFL 2nd Division

2002 Jason Quirk EFL 4th Division

Ted Beaumont holds the CLUB record for goals kicked in a game – 17.

In 1957 Alf Sharp had an opportunity to break the record against Belgrave kicking 16. Even in the dying moments of the game numerous players ignored other leads as they kicked to Alf in the hope of breaking the record but to no avail.